May the 4th Be With You

Today I was either going to write about Dear White People, which I finished last night, or  on my millennial failings but then I saw the news about Republicants getting their bullshit healthcare bill through the house and after an hour of looking at those smug bastards I was way too pissed to tackle those subjects.  So today seeing as it’s May the 4th I figured it might be fun to just talk about movies I’m looking forward to.

 

And of course we have to start with the new Star Wars…

So I have a bit of a confession, The Force Awakens was the first Star Wars film I had ever seen. I know you’re probably wondering what rock I’ve been living under, but honestly my family never really watched them (though I think my mom has seen them) and when I got into films no one I knew was ever really a big enough fan to recommend them to me.  I don’t even think they really played them on TV all that much.

Anyway I ended up absolutely loving TFA and I cannot wait to see the last Jedi and in case you are wondering no I have not seen Rogue One yet but I’m looking forward to checking it out.

The second I saw the trailer for Ingrid Goes West I was immediately like I’m in.  I love movies like this because they are such a fun ride and end up being a nice dose of individuality. The trailer doesn’t give much away about the premise of the film but basically Audrey Plaza plays Ingrid an unstable woman who moves to LA after her mother dies and befriends a social media star played by Elizabeth Olsen and that is pretty much all the info you can get about this movie. Seriously though the only info I needed was the scene in the trailer where Ingrid pepper sprays a bride on her wedding day cause that pretty much guaranteed I would see this movie.

I read this book a while ago and I don’t quite remember every single detail of it but I remember being supremely pissed off at certain parts. From what I remember the two couples kids commit this horrible crime (like when you hear what they did it is legit rage inducing) and they meet up to discuss what to do because the boys have yet to be identified. As the dinner goes on you find out more about each of the people and different pieces of the puzzle get revealed. I didn’t love the book but I always thought it make for an interesting film and I’d love to see what they do with the material.

I’ve never read the series this film is based on so I can’t speak from knowledge about the subject matter, but I can say the trailer looks amazing. Plus there’s this…

the-dark-tower

So yeah that’s legit all I need to be convinced. I’m in!

And there we are, those are the four movies I’m looking forward to checking out. Anything you looking forward to? As always let me know in the comments below.

Later

Leave a Reply

